Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

See what a franchise really costs — the real numbers, not the pitch.

5,700+ franchise brands, with filed fees and full investment ranges for 4,700+ of them — taken straight from the disclosure documents every brand is required to file. Where a brand keeps a number out of its filings, we mark it “Not disclosed” rather than guess. Explore every brand’s real costs, free.

Free to browse — no account needed.

McDonald's: what it takes to open
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureFranchise feeFDD Item 5$45,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash required$500,000
Net worth requiredNot disclosed1
Footed totalInitial investment, all-in (FDD Item 7)$1,470,500 to $2,642,000
  1. 1 Not stated in the brand's disclosure data we hold. Missing figures are never estimated.
Source: franchise disclosure filingsTickmark legend: how we verify

See the full McDonald's cost breakdown

Real numbers, straight from the disclosure documents brands are required to file — never brochure figures.

Every figure is sourced; missing ones are marked “Not disclosed” — never estimated or filled in.

Compare fees, investment, and how brands have held up — side by side, in seconds. How we check the numbers

5,700+
franchise brands profiled
4,700+
brands with cost data
12
industries
50
states, plus DC

Browse by industry

All 12 industries compared

Auto & Travel

Brands profiled
192
Median minimum investment
$177,500

Education & Arts

Brands profiled
48
Median minimum investment
$100,538

Entertainment & Recreation

Brands profiled
16
Median minimum investment
$1,498,565

Event Services

Brands profiled
13
Median minimum investment
$35,563

Food & Beverage

Brands profiled
1,822
Median minimum investment
$282,500

Health & Fitness

Brands profiled
895
Median minimum investment
$184,861

Home Services

Brands profiled
245
Median minimum investment
$116,350

Lodging & Leisure

Brands profiled
221
Median minimum investment
$6,130,275

Pet Services

Brands profiled
25
Median minimum investment
$302,583

Professional Services

Brands profiled
1,750
Median minimum investment
$84,700

Retail

Brands profiled
256
Median minimum investment
$165,000

Sports & Recreation

Brands profiled
31
Median minimum investment
$242,259

Check the math yourself

Franchise cost calculator

Find out what you can actually afford — no contact info needed to see your result.

Three inputs, 60 seconds, computed on your device. We don’t store your numbers.

Franchise retention study

Unit openings and closures, recomputed from disclosed unit history across 3,400+ brands.

Our own survival metric, with the methodology published in full.

How we check the numbers

Sourced, not guessed

Figures come straight from franchise disclosure filings — the documents brands are legally required to publish. 4,700+ brands have comparable cost data.

Honest gaps

Where a brand doesn’t disclose a number, the cell says “Not disclosed” in red ink. We never estimate or fill in missing figures.

One standard for every brand

The same figures, measured the same way for every brand — so a comparison is a fair one, not a favor.

How we check the numbers

The real numbers are already public. Here they are, in one place.

5,700+ brands profiled. 4,700+ with cost data you can compare right now.